What’s your Digits? – Take 3: Proportions Challenge

A Blog Challenge by Strawberry Singh

I was excited to stumble on this challenge because I haven’t gotten to do any yet! This seemed like a good one to start with.

34

My Digits:

Height: 75 ( 6’1 using the Avatar Ruler)
Body Fat: 2
Head size: 50
Breast Size: 55
Arm length: 74
Hand size: 25
Torso length: 38
Leg Muscle: 44
Leg length: 16
Hip width: 55
Butt Size: 35

I was really surprised to be over 6 feet tall! I know the height measurement in edit appearance is notoriously inaccurate, but I really did not think I was over 6 feet. Only because wherever I go, most people seem to tower over me!

Mesh clothing size: XS – S depending on the item

I keep a backup copy of my shape to fool around with for mesh clothing, so my numbers change pretty frequently. I find that most mesh clothing isn’t too friendly to larger breasts and body fat. I really don’t mind tweaking my body a little bit because I adore mesh.

Berry’s Questions:

Do you try and keep your avatar’s body proportionate and similar to the “average” proportions pictured above? Yes and no. I wanted to be somewhat statuesque and doll-like so I purposely exaggerated some features. I did try to keep the rules of proportion in mind though, so I wouldn’t go too overboard.

What do you dislike the most about the SL avatar mesh? Not being able to scale the avatar while keeping the proportions intact. If I want to be taller/shorter, I have to go back and re-adjust everything else to keep the same proportions I had before. It’s silly. And as most other people said – SL hands and feet are U-G-L-Y. Thank goodness for mesh hands & feet!

Does it bother you when you see other avatars that are not proportionate at all? Sometimes. I mean, it’s SL, you can look however you want and I am not judgey. However I do cringe internally (and involuntarily) sometimes when I see really short arms with tiny hands. I mean REALLY short arms, not just maybe-a-little-too-short. But if it’s what you like, I don’t care. It’s just not visually appealing to me.

Even though this is a virtual world and people can be anything they want to be, do you feel when they are in human form, they should try to keep their proportions close to average? Yes and no. I think if people are truly trying to resemble an average human they should keep certain things in mind when making their shape, but only as a general guide. And only if that’s what they’re trying to do. If someone wants to present as an atypical human, like a model for example, then it’s pretty much anything goes! Some of my favorite bloggers & photographers have really exaggerated proportions and look absolutely gorgeous in photos (in my opinion). I’m a firm believer that you should look however you want for *you*. Even if others don’t like it. :)

Leave a Reply

